Noront Resources

High-grade Ni-Cu-Pt-Pd-Au-Ag-Rh-Cr-V discoveries in the "Ring of Fire" NI 43-101 Update (March 2011): 11.0 Mt @ 1.78% Ni, 0.98% Cu, 0.99 gpt Pt and 3.41 gpt Pd and 0.20 gpt Au (M&I) / 9.0 Mt @ 1.10% Ni, 1.14% Cu, 1.16 gpt Pt and 3.49 gpt Pd and 0.30 gpt Au (Inf.)
in response to CMP's message

I am no expert on the mining act or railroads.

However I believe that in order to get approval to build a rail line, the province and perhaps the feds, would have to approve the land use.

In this case Cliffs is working with Ontario Northland who in turn negotiates with the government regarding the land use and permits...correct me if I am wrong.

If the route has been approved, then I agree with CMP that it would be very smart to stake claims along the route, if permitted, because the excavation work may uncover mineralization at surface.

In fact the Sudbury mineral resources were discovered in the late 1800's when they were building the railroad.

There has been a sugestion that Cliffs would own the railroad if they put up the money.

I doubt if that is the way it would work in Ontario. Cliffs may indeed start the negotiations with Ont. Northland and the gov't and play a key role in getting it started but I do not believe they would not be allowed to own the railroad. I suspect the federal govt is involved as well.

If Cliffs puts up some money, they may be paid back through reduced rates for shipping.

I believe the gov't will run the railroad through one of it's subsidiaries and charge the mines for the service.

In Sudbury I believe Vale Inco pays to have it's ore shipped from Levack to Sudbury even though they have their own local rail lines and rolling stock. They may even use their own rail cars on the CP lines.